A Chrysler surprise

Ran into a friend downtown last night. He asked what I’d driven lately that had surprised me. It’s a great question that no one ever asks.

Also, it was a spectacular set-up. “This,” I said, and pointed to the 2015 Chrysler 300S parked next to us. I’d read good things, but hadn’t given them much thought. The 300 is a much more enjoyable car than I’d expected; it’s too large to be called lithe, but it’s plenty athletic for a big (4,300 lbs) fella.

2015 Chrysler 300S

Comfortable and good-looking, too. The new mesh grille with its “floating” logo work especially well, IMO.

Engine choices include the legendary 5.7-liter “Hemi” V-8 which makes 363 hp and 394 lb-ft of torque and a 3.0-liter six that makes 292 or 300 hp, depending on trim. Both engines are paired with a very good eight-speed automatic.

My tester had the six, which tromps the eight at the box office, if not the drag strip. The six-banger has been treated to a bit of engine-audio engineering and, under throttle, offers up a reasonable facsimile of the sound of a big eight.

